Featured Sessions

President’s Welcome Reception – Sunday, November 6, 6:00 – 8:00 pm

All attendees are invited to enjoy an evening of networking.


Opening Plenary: “Building Sustainability in the Nuclear Enterprise” – Monday, November 7, 8:00 – 11:30 am

In late 2015, the Federal Government reasserted its support for nuclear energy as a key element of its Climate Action Plan, recognizing that 60% of carbon-free electricity generated in the United States in 2014 came from nuclear power. Ultimately, the success of this vision will hinge on the global nuclear enterprise compellingly addressing key issues of sustainability that will ensure a faster expansion of the nuclear energy option than has been seen to date. These key sustainability issues include: efficient, reliable, and competitive deployment of nuclear energy within a systemic mosaic of carbon-free energy options; continued safe and secure operation of deployed plants; societally-acceptable systemic solutions to the issue of nuclear waste, and an effective and technology-informed framework to resist or eliminate nuclear weapon proliferation. The panelists, each distinguished by their outstanding service toward these objectives in their particular sectors, will represent the full range of government, industry, laboratory, and policy perspectives on building a sustainable global nuclear enterprise.


  • Dr. John Gilleland (Chief Technical Officer, TerraPower LLC)
  • Mr. John Kotek (Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Nuclear Energy, DOE)
  • Dr. Mark Peters (Director, Idaho National Laboratory)
  • Ambassador Thomas R. Pickering (Former Under Secretary of State and Ambassador to the UN, Russia, India, Israel, El Salvador, Nigeria and Jordan )
  • Dr. Monica Regalbuto (Assistant Secretary, Environmental Management, DOE)
  • Mr. Ray Rothrock (Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, RedSeal, Inc)

President’s Special Session: “Identifying the Nuclear Grand Challenges” – Monday, November 7, 4:30 – 6:30 pm

At this session, President Andy Klein will kick off a Society-wide project to identify 6-10 ANS Nuclear Grand Challenges that need to be addressed by 2030. An interactive brainstorming session in roundtable format will follow speakers discussing current advanced nuclear technology directions. Ideas submitted during the session will be analyzed and vetted by ANS Professional Divisions, and the selected ANS Nuclear Grand Challenges will be announced at the ANS Annual Meeting in June 2017.

  • Mr. John Kotek (Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Nuclear Energy, DOE)
  • Dr. Mark Peters (Director, Idaho National Laboratory)

General Chair’s Special Session: “Managing Proliferation and Security Risks in the Nuclear Enterprise” – Tuesday, November 8, 4:30 – 6:30 pm

There exists general consensus on the importance of managing proliferation risks in creating and maintaining a sustainable global nuclear energy enterprise. Although much has been written and discussed regarding “proliferation resistance” (e.g., Generation IV International Forum), and non-proliferation is almost universally stated as an aspirational objective of nuclear technology development, specific strategies and quantifiable metrics to gauge success in meeting this objective need greater visibility in public discourse and deliberation. The invited panelists at this Session will provide perspectives from the laboratory, industry, academic, and government sectors. The relative merits of policy and technology strategies to minimize risks associated with nuclear material security, as well as risks of weapons latency in global nuclear infrastructures will be discussed.

  • Dr. Matthew Bunn (Professor of Practice, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University)
  • Mr. Seth Grae (President and CEO, Lightbridge Corporation)
  • Dr. Howard Hall (Governor’s Chair Professor (Nuclear Engineering), University of Tennessee)
  • Ms. Nancy Jo Nicholas (Associate Director (Threat Identification and Response), Los Alamos National Laboratory)
  • Dr. Larry Satkowiak (Director, Nonproliferation, Safeguards & Security, Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Ms. Melissa Scholz (Program Manager, Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation, National Nuclear Security Administration)

High Temperature Reactor Technology Embedded Topical Meeting (HTR 2016) Opening Plenary – Monday, November 7, 1:00 pm


  • Dr. Kam Ghaffarian – Founder and Chief Executive Officer, X-Energy
  • Prof. Grzegorz Wrochna – Director HTGR, Poland
  • Mr. Chris Hamilton – Executive Director, NGNP Industry Alliance
  • Dr. Minwhan Kim – Director HTGR Program, KAERI
  • Mr. John Kotek – Acting Assistant Secretary for the Office of Nuclear Energy, Dept. of Energy
  • Dr. Kazuhiko Kunitomi – Director General, HTGR Hydrogen and Heat Application Research Center, JAEA
  • Prof. Zhang Zuoyi – Director, INET